Learning Knife Skills & Cooking With Chicago Cutlery

I had always seen chefs using knives in the kitchen and wondered how they didn’t cut their fingers off while chopping food at such a quick pace. When I had the chance to attend an event with Chicago Cutlery and learn knife skills from an expert chef I jumped at the chance.

The class was held at The Chopping Block in Chicago and the kitchen we got to work in was amazing. I dream that I could have a kitchen that nice in my home! Before making anything we were introduced to the new line from Chicago Cutlery called Design Pro.


We were taught which knives were used for what in the kitchen, how to hold them, and how to properly cut food with them.

We learned the correct way to cut an onion {video coming soon!} and the secret to not crying while cutting one. Since I like you guys I will tell you the secret! Put the onion in the freezer for about 10 minutes and then soak it in cold water for a few. Try it! I was amazed that I could finally cut an onion and not look like I had been watching a sad love story on TV. Anyways…we practiced our cutting skills on a lot of veggies. These knives made chopping up food so easy!

Once we learned the basics we put together three recipes: Caponata on Crostini, Thai Beef Salad, and Fish in Parchment with Julienned Vegetables and Olive Butter.

We also decorated a tart with fresh seasonal fruit and glazed it.

I was happy that I was able to attend this event. I took back some great knowledge that I can use in my kitchen at home and gained some confidence in my knife cutting skills. I also learned how to make some delicious recipes and discovered how easy it is to make meals that everyone in my family can enjoy.

I was given a couple knives at the event and Sinisa loves using them. He works in the food industry and uses knives everyday so he had a lot of other ones he can compare them to and these are superior to any of the other brands that he has used. The first time he cut with one he said it “cut like butter”. Having sharp knives in the kitchen will definitely increase his efficiency when preparing food.

(Disclosure: I wrote this review after attending an event by Mom Central Consulting on behalf of Chicag Cutlery and received products to facilitate my post and a promotional item to thank me for taking the time to participate.)

One thought on “Learning Knife Skills & Cooking With Chicago Cutlery

  1. I just recently got some Chicago Cutlery paring knives and they are fantastic! Thanks for the onion cutting tip. My sister-in-law and I are always looking for a way to avoid tears when cutting onions!

Leave a Reply

