Getting Healthy With Lean Cuisine & The Couch-To-5K Program

Since having children I have struggled with my weight. I have tried countless times to change my eating and exercise habits and have found it hard to stick to my diets and routines with a busy schedule and two children who need me. Recently I accepted the challenge to try Lean Cuisine meals once a day along with starting the Couch-To-5K exercise program. Now that the boys are both in preschool I’m finally starting to feel like I have a little time to focus on myself and my goals.

Along with me on this journey is a fellow blogger from the Social Fabric community, Tammilee from Tammilee Tips! She is from Washington and blogs about everything from deals to recipes. Browsing around her blog I found lots of great posts, including this recipe for Candy Corn Fruit Parfaits. It’s perfect for Halloween, full of fruit, and I love that she is “real” and confessed that she had to check the orders of the colors on a candy corn because I would have had to double check, too!

After accepting the challenge and emailing Tammilee I headed to Sam’s Club with my family to get some Lean Cuisine frozen meals. I tend to skip meals or eat junk when I am in a hurry so having these meals in the freezer and fruits and veggies in the fridge I will have no excuse to eat better. We found 6 packs of Lean Cuisine Asian Flavors in the frozen section. I had never purchased meals in bulk but after the cost breakdown they cost less than $2 per meal so I thought that was a great deal.

Along with loving that we could purchase items in bulk we also enjoyed the fact that there were booths to sample foods throughout the store. Jake made sure to lick every bit of caramel dip out of his sample cup.

Once done shopping we stopped at the front of the store and had lunch in their cafeteria {I know, I know, hot dogs are so unhealthy!}. After indulging we headed home and I signed up for the Couch-To-5K program and downloaded the smartphone app.

With this plan I will workout three times per week for about 20-30 minutes each time. This is something I can do in the morning when the boys are in preschool or I can do with the boys around the neighborhood. I had always wanted to try out this program so I am glad that I’m getting the push I need to start it.

As for the food, I chose to try the Lean Cuisine Chicken Teriyaki Stir Fry meal first.

When I opened the box the first thing I saw were large chunks of chicken. I love when meals don’t skimp on the meat.

After cooking my meal I put it on a plate because it’s easier to eat off of and then paired it with some apple slices. I used to think of frozen entrees as not being filling enough for dinnertime but after eating I felt full and satisfied. My dinner only had 255 calories total which meant that I had some calories leftover for dessert!

I will be back with an update in a couple of weeks! Until then you can view more pictures in my Google+ album.

(Disclosure: I am a member of the Collective Bias™ Social Fabric® Community.  This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper insights study for Collective Bias™ and (Nestle) Lean Cuisine #CBias #SocialFabric #FozenFavorites )

2 thoughts on “Getting Healthy With Lean Cuisine & The Couch-To-5K Program

Leave a Reply

