“Mom Stays In The Picture” Photo Challenge

Last night I had tears in my eyes reading a beautiful article on Huffington Post’s blog. It was about how this mom, Allison Tate, hated being in pictures with her kids because she was unhappy about how she looked after having children but she realized that she needed to be in those pictures. She said this- “I want to be in the picture, to give them that visual memory of me. I want them to see how much I am here, how my body looks wrapped around them in a hug, how loved they are.” She thought back to the pictures of her mom and realized that she only saw her mom, the person who loved her. No doubt her mom and my mom and your mom all had insecurities about themselves but we didn’t see them. We saw beautiful women who gave us everything they had. I have to keep this in mind because my children see me, their mom, a woman who is raising them and loves them. They don’t see my baby fat. They don’t see the bags under my eyes. They don’t see my baggy sweatpants. They just see their mom.

I hate this picture of myself. Lucas will look at it and see past my physical flaws.

The Huffington Post has issued a photo challenge in response to Allison’s article. They are inviting moms to get in the picture with their children and send it in. I’m taking the challenge. Are you?

Remember mamas, your kids love you just the way you are <3

2 thoughts on ““Mom Stays In The Picture” Photo Challenge

  1. What a fantastic post! I’m the Grandma who often takes the photos, but doesn’t like to be in too many of them because all I see are the wrinkles. Thank you for the reminder.

  2. I am always putting myself in pics because I want to be remembered. I have never understood saying “no pics!” I don’t want to be forgotten! And what if anything happened to me tomorrow? Would the youngest really remember what I looked like without photos?

Leave a Reply

