Talking Menopause With My Mom

Since September is Menopause Awareness Month I invited my mom to share a little about her experience with Menopause because I have not arrived at that stage yet and she had been talking about her menopause symptoms for months now. Hope you enjoy this guest post :)

My daughter Alicia asked if I would like to do a guest post on Menopause because September is Menopause Awareness Month. So I started to think….Menopause-How long have I had it and when did it get here? Really…Menopause, not me, I’m different surely it will never happen to me.

Well I’m here to tell you, as many women my age find out, I’m not different, and IT’S COMING. Even though it’s been evident in small signs for the last 6-8 months the realization has just recently started to set in, especially now that I’ve been educating myself on the subject.

One of the newest terms I have recently been hearing is the “The 2nd Talk”. I even asked my daughter what it meant when I first heard it, how embarrassed was I when I finally figured it out. Like the majority of the Baby Boomers of my Era, I had no “2nd Talk” with my mother, Heck; I didn’t even have the “1st Talk” with her. I’m so glad things are different for today’s women!

Believe it or not, my own daughter has been one of my biggest support systems in this new and not so always welcome time of my life. Mainly she’s always there to listen. It’s always a good idea to keep your loved ones up to date how your feeling, the symptoms you’re experiencing and how it affects your daily routines, so they can be able to understand how you may feel on a day to day basis.

My daughter recently introduced me to a new line of products for women of my age from Poise called the “Fab Five”. Poise offers five different products that target the general symptoms that have plagued women for years.

We started out by taking a trip to our local Wal-Mart, no pressure there because we enjoy anytime we can get out of the house and the chance to shop, especially at our local Wal-Mart, with its convenience, great prices and the one stop shopping. We found three of the “Fab Five” products. {See more details about our shopping trip in the Google+ album}

We purchased the Cooling Towelettes (my personal favorite), they cool you down when you start to heat up during a hot flash or night sweats. They’re great because they are really convenient in their travel pack and your can take them with you anywhere, you can keep them next to your bed and even keep a pack at work.

We also purchased the Feminine Wash which helps keep you feeling fresh, and is Ph balanced so it’s safe for sensitive areas, and The Personal Lubricant that helps with the dryness which is a common culprit of Menopause.

I went home later that night and logged onto Walmart.com, and clicked on Poise “Fab Five” and watched the informative videos on each of the products. I was also able to download coupons for the products. Two other products that we didn’t purchase, because they didn’t have them on the shelf, were the Roll-on Cooling Gel and the Panty Freshener and I am looking forward to trying them with the coupons I printed out on Walmart’s website. The videos on each product were very educational. I was amazed at all the different products they have for so many symptoms and how many I could relate with. Obviously every woman doesn’t have all the same symptoms nor does she always experience each and every one of them during this time in this phase in her life. In fact I read that there are 35 different symptoms. I hope not to experience each of them but at least now I’m prepared. I’ve learned so much since I’ve been educating myself on the subject and I only wish I had done it sooner. Having a better idea of what I’m going through and dealing with helps me feel a little more empowered and I’m definitely feeling in a better place.

What are your thoughts on Menopause? Does the word scare you or have you embraced it?

***

Products and their benefits:

~Poise Roll-On Cooling Gel:For hot flashes, Cooling sensation lasts up to 10 minutes, Hypoallergenic, Dermatologist tested

~Poise Body Cooling Towelettes:Instant cooling sensation, Hypoallergenic, Dermatologist tested

~Poise Feminine Wash:Made without Glycerin & Paraben, Gynecologist tested, Hypoallergenic

~Poise Panty Freshener:Scent lasts up to 4 hours, Hypoallergenic, Dermatologist tested

~Poise Personal Lubricant: Non greasy, Water soluble, Made without Glycerin & Paraben, pH Balanced Formula

***

Connect with Poise online: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest

(Disclosure: I am a member of the Collective Bias™ Social Fabric® Community.  This shop has been compensated as part of a social shopper insights study for Collective Bias™ and Poise #CBias #SocialFabric #PoiseFab5 All thoughts are our own.)

One thought on “Talking Menopause With My Mom

Leave a Reply

