$25 Target Gift Card Giveaway {Autism Awareness Giveaway Hop}

 Hosted by:

Heather @ Fire and Ice
Pixie @ Page Turners

April is Autism Awareness Month.  To help spread the word about Autism we are hosting a giveaway hop.

Each participating blog is hosting a giveaway.  You will find lots of variety among the prizes.  Some of the blogs are giving away prizes that relate to autism, other blogs are giving away gift cards or other prizes and posting information about autism to help make others aware.

To find out more about Autism you can visit Autism Speaks here. If you have a child that shows signs of Autism I urge you to have them evaluated by a qualified Doctor. The earlier they are evaluated the more help they can receive if they need it.

GIVEAWAY

$25 Target Gift Card

MANDATORY ENTRY:

Visit the Autism Speaks website {found here} and tell me one thing you learned about Autism

ADDITIONAL ENTRIES:

{Do any or all of the following, leave a separate comment for one extra entry each}

1) Share this giveaway on a social network

2) Like Making Time For Mommy on Facebook

3) Follow me on Twitter

4) Re-pin something from my Autism Pinterest board

5) Enter another one of my giveaways found here

Giveaway ends April 17, 2012 at 11:59pm Central Time. US Only.

(Disclosure: This giveaway is not sponsored, endorsed, or associated with Facebook in any way.)

Find more giveaways here.

378 thoughts on “$25 Target Gift Card Giveaway {Autism Awareness Giveaway Hop}

  1. I learned that unusual repetitive behaviors and/or a tendency to engage in a restricted range of activities can be symptoms of autism.

  2. I learned that an estimated 1 out of 54 boys and 1 in 252 girls are diagnosed with autism in the United States.

  3. Studies show that mother’s weight may have something to do with it.
    I say look at the father’s. I know marijuana smoking by a father can cause birth defects for a baby also.

  4. i learned that the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) identify around 1 in 88 American children as on the autism spectrum–a ten-fold increase in prevalence in 40 years

  5. I learned that more children will be diagnosed with autism this year than with AIDS, diabetes & cancer combined

  6. I followed you on twitter @Danasquare and on FB Dana Cuadrado
    I learned that autism is more common in Boys I never realized that!

  7. I learned that Autism is a general term for a group of complex disorders of the brain. There are many different ways that a child can be affected by autism. It is not just a single disorder.

  8. Most cases of autism, however, appear to be caused by a combination of autism risk genes and environmental factors influencing early brain development.

  9. I learned that there is an estimated 1 out of 54 boys and 1 in 252 girls are diagnosed with autism in the United States.

  10. I learned “that there is no one cause of autism just as there is no one type of autism. Over the last five years, scientists have identified a number of rare gene changes, or mutations, associated with autism. A small number of these are sufficient to cause autism by themselves. Most cases of autism, however, appear to be caused by a combination of autism risk genes and environmental factors influencing early brain development.”.
    bekki1820cb at gmail dot com

  11. i dont need to look at the site, we deal with it everyday at home. I can tell you it is often misdiagnosed as a young child.

  12. I learned that an estimated 1 out of 54 boys and 1 in 252 girls are diagnosed with autism in the United States.

  13. Something I learned – the most obvious signs of autism and symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.
    Thank you.

  14. I learned that a small but growing body of research suggests that autism risk is less among children whose mothers took prenatal vitamins

  15. I learned that Autism affects 1 in 88 American children and autism has increased ten-fold in the last 40 years! There needs to be more research and early treatment of this disorder so children can go on to live healthy lives.

  16. I learned that: Autism statistics from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) identify around 1 in 88 American children as on the autism spectrum–a ten-fold increase in prevalence in 40 years
    sweetpeonies07 at gmail

  17. I learned that an estimated 1 out of 54 boys and 1 in 252 girls are diagnosed with autism in the United States.

  18. I learned that the most obvious signs of autism and symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.

  19. I learned parents should look for symptoms such as no back-and-forth sharing of sounds, smiles or other facial expressions by 9 months.
    smchester at gmail dot com

  20. I learned that Autism Speaks is working to increase awareness and investigation of these and other issues, where further research has the potential to improve the lives of those who struggle with autism.

  21. I learned that research suggests that autism risk is less among children whose mothers took prenatal vitamins (containing folic acid) in the months before and after conception.

  22. I learned that children with autism (and all children, in fact) have a right to free and appropriate education.

  23. I learned that studies show that autism is three to four times more common among boys than girls.

  24. First and foremost, we now know that there is no one cause of autism just as there is no one type of autism
    Thanks for the contest.

  25. learned that Autism receives less than 5% of the research funding of many less prevalent childhood diseases.

  26. I learned that in the last five years more advances have been made in finding causes of autism…

    I follow you email by email.

  27. I had no idea Autism was so prevalent with more children with Autism than children affected by diabetes, AIDS, cancer, cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, muscular dystrophy or Down syndrome, combined.

  28. I learned that Autism disorders are characterized, in varying degrees, by difficulties in social interaction, verbal and nonverbal communication and repetitive behaviors.

    FB: Toni Marie Caravello
    reannenny at aol.com
    Twitter: Tonic67
    Google: toni caravello or reannenny

  29. I have been to that site so many times that there isnt much I can learn from it. My son was diagnosed in 2008 and I have studied so much there just isnt much I havent heard.

  30. I learned that the most obvious signs of autism and symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    eswright18 at gmail dot com

  31. I learned that 1 out of 54 boys are dx with it- I wonder why so many more children are dx it it today, is it better testing-more awareness, more chemicals, is this the cat ch all dx like ADHD use to be? Sorry, so many questions-very intersting and important subject to me.
    Diane Baum
    esldiane@gmail.com

  32. read that the most obvious signs of autism and symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age

  33. I learned this:
    “Autism statistics from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) identify around 1 in 88 American children as on the autism spectrum–a ten-fold increase in prevalence over the last 40 years. ”
    Angie
    14earth at gmail dot com

  34. I learned that about 40 percent have average to above average intellectual abilities.

    Linda
    seriousreader at live dot com

  35. I repinned some of your Pinterest Autism posts to my Pinterest Autism board as booksaver (Linda Henderson)

    Linda
    seriousreader at live dot com

  36. I learned that an estimated 1 out of 54 boys and 1 in 252 girls are diagnosed with autism in the United States. By way of comparison, this is more children than are affected by diabetes, AIDS, cancer, cerebral palsy, cystic fibrosis, muscular dystrophy or Down syndrome, combined. ASD affects over 2 million individuals in the U.S. and tens of millions worldwide. Moreover, government autism statistics suggest that prevalence rates have increased 10 to 17 percent annually in recent years. Yikes! kristiedonelson(at)gmail(dot)com Thank you.

  37. I learned the most obvious signs of autism and symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.
    willitara [at] gmail [dot] com

  38. I learned that government autism statistics suggest that prevalence rates have increased 10 to 17 percent annually in recent years.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  39. Around 1 in 88 American children as on the autism spectrum–a ten-fold increase in prevalence over the last 40 years.

  40. I learned that symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.

    itsjustme62613 at gmail.com

  41. I learned it is 3 to 4 times more common in boys than in girls. And a lot more, this website is very informative!
    taznjade at gmail dot com

  42. Autism is a general term for a group of complex disorders of the brain. There are many different ways that a child can be affected by autism. It is not just a single disorder.

  43. As the mom of a 16yr old autistic son..i can say children with autism are often misdiagnoised..there is lots of different spectrums of autism..my son is very high functioning ,his social skills have taken a long time to develope..but his mind is like a sponge ..once he sees or reads something…he never forgets..he remembers dates..from yrs ago that we done something…….and me ..sometimes i forget what i done yesterday…lol

  44. A small but growing body of research suggests that autism risk is less among children whose mothers took prenatal vitamins (containing folic acid) in the months before and after conception.

  45. ASD is characterized, in varying degrees, by difficulties in social interaction, verbal and nonverbal communication and repetitive behaviors.

  46. I learned that an estimated 1 out of 54 boys and 1 in 252 girls are diagnosed with autism.
    mightynaynay(at)cs.com

  47. “Autism statistics from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) identify around 1 in 88 American children as on the autism spectrum–a ten-fold increase in prevalence in 40 years. ” Wow. I knew there had been a serious increase, I dont think I knew just how much.

  48. I clicked the “+ 1 button” to share this post on Google+ as Angie Lilly. There is no link to prove this.
    Angie
    14earth at gmail dot com

  49. I see that “Adolescents with autism can benefit from transition services that promote a successful maturation into independence and employment opportunities of adulthood.”

  50. I learned ” Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and autism are both general terms for a group of complex disorders of brain development.”

  51. I learned that only 0.6% of total NIH funding goes to autism research despite the fact that it’s one of the most prevalent disorders.

  52. I learned that the most obvious signs of autism and symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.

  53. I learned that the most obvious signs of autism and symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.

  54. I learned that the (CDC) identify around 1 in 88 American children as on the autism spectrum.

    shawn113(at)hotmail(dot)com

  55. To be entirely honest, I didn’t learn much from this visit to the Autism Speaks website, as I’m an Autism mom and live with it daily. In the beginning of our journey I found it to be extremely helpful and still refer people there often!

  56. Repinned the black belt in Autism bracelet…love that!!
    Also wanted to say how great it is that the pin with the 3 wreaths- the first link on that blog post is to the wreath I made;)

  57. symptoms of autism tend to emerge between 2 and 3 years of age.It is nice you are doing this giveaway and raising awareness of autism.

  58. Thanks for the giveaway…ASD is “a national emergency that is in need of a national strategy. At 1 in 88, we now have over 1 million children directly affected by autism. According to a newly released study the annual cost of autism in the United States is a staggering $126 billion annually, more than tripling the cost analysis from six years ago.”

    senorpiero [at] yahoo [dot] com

Comments are closed.